back to the real world

Embed from Getty Images

since my last post: morphine, demerol, surgery… oh my! i have come a long way in healing. if truth be told, i think i could get use to this gig of not working for a living… however, unless another unforeseen miracle takes place the option of  complete retirement will likely never take place. so i must return to the real world.

how can i complain though? i have two jobs that give me fulfillment. i never would have thought God would give me that. i’m geared up to get back into the swing of things. i am looking forward to interacting with colleagues, employers, volunteers, and “my people” (the ones who have stolen my heart to wishing things were different for them, to seeing the positive attributes they have, to nurturing them in different ways, to giving them hope, to giving them dignity, to giving them a chance to make changes.

and when i am finished for the day, i am so thankful i am able to come back to the safety of our little abode, relax, chat without trying to solve people’s problems, and maybe even begin to re-watch downton abbey, picking out a different character to study.

d

are you fulfilled in your work?

  • if so, tell me about it.
  • if not, what steps can you take to change it?
Published by: bcsmithereens

hello, my name is dawn and i have been married for 30 years. hubby and i have two grown children (25 and 22). our family has lived in smithers, bc canada since march 17, 2001. this is the longest I have ever lived in one house. I love GOD, plants and cats and my husband (not necessarily in that order) i am an mk (missionary’s kid). i graduated in kenya… a long time ago! i love cats and kittens! (we have four) i really enjoy reading, preferring fiction and biographical. i currently am a bookkeeper for a locally owned internet provider. i previously blogged at: bcsmithereens.blogspot.ca. at the time i was going through a very rough period in my life. since that time i have undergone what i can only explain as a “Spiritual Heart Transplant”. i have begun to share my story with the public and have found that to be strengthening as well. i would love for you to follow me along on my journey, make a comment, or two… or three so i can get to know you too. hopefully i can be a blessing to you. thank you for your time. d

Categories lifestyle, PurposeTags, , , , , , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “back to the real world”

  1. fulfilled??? good question… do I LOVE it? sometimes. Do I ENJOY it? Usually… Would I rather stay home or do something else? yes. Actually, when I worked only four days a week it was pretty close to perfect, but finances don’t permit that at this time. But fulfilled? no… can I change that? not really, because I believe it’s where I’m supposed to be at this time in my life. There are things this job is teaching me and I don’t think I’m finished yet. And yet, even as I re-read this, I wonder… filfilled? Maybe being content in knowing this is where I’m supposed to be right now IS fulfilled… It’s not what I would LIKE to be doing…. but that is why I must remember to pray, “Your kingdom come, Your will be done.” Thanks for asking, Dawn! 🙂

    1. laurel, you’ve put a bit of thought in your answer, and i appreciate that. i totally get the four day work week being pretty close to perfect part. i would love to go back to that, but like you, not at this time. i looked up the definitions of fulfilled and content. here’s what i found:

      ful·filled
      fo͝olˈfild/Submit
      adjective
      1.
      satisfied or happy because of fully developing one’s abilities or character.
      synonyms: satisfied, content, contented, happy, pleased;

      con·tent1
      kənˈtent/
      adjective
      1.
      in a state of peaceful happiness.
      “he seemed more content, less bitter”
      synonyms: contented, satisfied, pleased, gratified, fulfilled, happy, cheerful, glad; More
      antonyms: discontented, dissatisfied
      satisfied with a certain level of achievement, good fortune, etc., and not wishing for more.
      “he had to be content with third place”
      verb
      verb: content; 3rd person present: contents; past tense: contented; past participle: contented; gerund or present participle: contenting
      1.
      satisfy (someone).
      “nothing would content her”
      synonyms: satisfy, please; More
      accept as adequate despite wanting more or better.
      “we contented ourselves with a few small purchases”
      noun
      noun: content; plural noun: contents
      1.
      a state of satisfaction.
      “the greater part of the century was a time of content”
      2.
      a member of the British House of Lords who votes for a particular motion.

      so… they’re pretty much the same… and like you, feeling good/content/fulfilled about being where you are at this time and place sounds like a pretty good “place” to be. can’t really ask for more than that.

      d

you are welcome to leave a reply

